Thread: AIX /etc/security/user like file for Linux

Thanks

Default AIX /etc/security/user like file for Linux

I'm a newbie in Linux. I understand that Linux and AIX has some similarity. However i tried to search whether there is a file system of /etc/security/user (like in AIX). In this file, i can see all the attribute of each individual users in the system. Is there somthing similar in Linux? I want to see whether the user is an admin (or having admin rites).

Please advise.

Thanks.

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by ftengcheng View Post
    I'm a newbie in Linux. I understand that Linux and AIX has some similarity. However i tried to search whether there is a file system of /etc/security/user (like in AIX). In this file, i can see all the attribute of each individual users in the system. Is there somthing similar in Linux? I want to see whether the user is an admin (or having admin rites).

Please advise.

Thanks.
    There is no such file which defines extended user attributes such as su , account_locked and so on. However there are other files and ways to accomplish some of the security issues. Basically the /etc/security/user is bit outdated and Linux use PAM based security mechanism. Can you tell me what you are trying to do? On a related note look at /etc/security directory it has some of the functionalities provided by the AIX user file in different files such as
    access.conf : Use login access permissions
    group.conf : Group related permissions
    limits.conf : Put resources limitations
    pam_env.conf : setup session management PAM variables
    time.conf : Specifies the times, days, or both, the user is allowed to access the system.
    /etc/pam.conf and /etc/pam.d/* PAM configs
    All [Solved] threads are closed by mods / admin to avoid spam issues. See Howto mark a thread as [Solved]

Thanks

Thanks Vivek,