Thread: move video files to another folder IF they have subtitles

Thanks

Default move video files to another folder IF they have subtitles

First of all, hello everyone! First post here, partial newbie here, hope someone will take charge of this lil problem:

My current situation:

I made a script that downloads automatically, on a 15 minutes basis, new video files on a local folder, from a http server I own where video files are updated constantly during the day.

Another script checks the web for subtitles for each specific video file, and downloads the subs when they are found, giving these subtitle files the same name as the video file, but a different extension (sub, srt, etc).

Starting situation for the new script I want to create is that I have a folder with these various video files, mostly mkv but also avi, mp4 and other extensions. Subtitle files have the same name as the original video files, but extension mostly srt, but also sometimes sub, smi, ass, etc.

What I need is a cron-able script that checks the folder, identifies the video files according to a number of extensions we can previously decide, check if they have a subtitle associated to them, and in this case do something, like moving the file to another folder.

I've been struggling with this issue for a couple of weeks now, I'm sure the solution is quite dumb, but my scripting experience is just too weak...

Thanks

hi,

if I understand correctly, every subtitle file has a corresponding movie file, right ?

sh parameter expansion can remove extension, see man <yourshell>.
    a simple iteration on subtitle files
    first to remove extension from subtitle filename into a variable
    next to move movieFile.* and subtitleFile whereever you want
    end of iteration.
    A problem clearly stated is a problem half solved.

Thanks

So what have you tried yet so far ??
    Show the code, if you are facing any issue .. we will try to resolve that ..
    Rahul Patil <http://www.linuxian.com>

Thanks