Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Multiple Gateways on Single bonded interface

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Multiple Gateways on Single bonded interface

    Hi,

    Im very new to Debian. Last day I got a chance to install Debian 7.1.0 and its really interesting.

    I have one query regarding the network interface in Debian. I have two NICs on my machine and I created a bonded interface with them. Now I want a configuration, with two gateway IP address on the same bonded interface. Is that possible. So that, if one switch goes down my server's traffic should go to the other switch (gateway).

    ---------------
    # vi /etc/network/interfaces
    ...
    auto bond0
    iface bond0 inet static
    address 192.168.122.15
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    gateway 192.168.122.1
    gateway 192.168.122.2 <-------
    slaves eth0 eth1
    bond_mode active-backup
    bond_miimon 100
    bond_downdelay 200
    bond_updelay 200
    ------------------------------------------


    How I can achieve that type of configuration. Any one please help me.




    Gopihere.

  2. #2
    Never say die nixcraft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    BIOS
    Posts
    4,513
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 807 Times in 511 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Noop. Not possible. Add IP failover at switch level so that traffic can be routed using the same gateway.
    All [Solved] threads are closed by mods / admin to avoid spam issues. See Howto mark a thread as [Solved]


  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nixcraft View Post
    Noop. Not possible. Add IP failover at switch level so that traffic can be routed using the same gateway.

    Okay. So that means adding multiple gateway for same network via a bonded interface is not possible. I will check with the switch side configuration.

    Thank you. Thanks so much.
    Gopihere.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. how to create multiple file in a single command
    By selvam in forum Shell scripting
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 24th April 2012, 12:37 AM
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 30th November 2010, 01:51 PM
  3. Multiple internet connection in single lan
    By shaijuseb in forum Networking, Firewalls and Security
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12th August 2010, 04:06 PM
  4. single DHCP server with multiple VLAN's
    By frank in forum Computer Networking and Internet/broadband
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th December 2007, 12:38 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th March 2007, 04:48 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •