Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Bind DNS Query Per Second - bindgraph.cgi not working in RHEL / CentOS Linux

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4

    Default Bind DNS Query Per Second - bindgraph.cgi not working in RHEL / CentOS Linux

    Hi,

    We are running caching only dns server for our broadband internet customers.How to find query per second for our dns traffic and how to we find cache hit ratio for caching dns server?

    Is there any tool or application by which we have statistics?

    Regards,
    Rocky J.

  2. #2
    Never say die nixcraft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    BIOS
    Posts
    4,498
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 789 Times in 507 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    You can use dnstop command or bindgrap that makes pretty graphs about queries (such as A, MX, AAAA, TXT and so on) sent to your BIND name server. Both tool works with caching dns server as well as authoritative dns servers.


    All [Solved] threads are closed by mods / admin to avoid spam issues. See Howto mark a thread as [Solved]


  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4

    Default

    Hi Vivek,

    Thanks for your reply.I go throw your given both link and those are helpful to understand live dns query / response.

    Do we get statistics like which sites are cached by DNS? Does bind support 8000 QPS?

    Regards,
    Rocky J.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Rahul.Patil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Mumbai india
    Posts
    485
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 49 Times in 46 Posts
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Hi,
    check the dump-file statement in named.conf and run "rndc dumpdb" command then all sites which is cached by dns it will store in your disk (dump-file "/path/of/dump/file").

    check this link for bind QPS
    Rahul Patil <http://www.linuxian.com>

  5. #5
    Senior Member Rahul.Patil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Mumbai india
    Posts
    485
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 49 Times in 46 Posts
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Hi rocky,
    Do we get statistics like which sites are cached by DNS?
    use following script to achieve the save
    PHP Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    DUMP_FILE="/var/named/chroot/var/cache.dump"
    RNDC="/usr/sbin/rndc"
    ${RNDCdumpdb

    CNAME
    =$(grep answer -A1 ${DUMP_FILE} | grep -Ev "answer|--" awk '{print $3}' grep ^CNAME wc -l)
    A=$(grep answer -A1 ${DUMP_FILE} | grep -Ev "answer|--" awk '{print $3}' grep ^wc -l)

    echo 
    "+++ Statistics Dump +++"
    echo "A         Records : $A"
    echo "CNAME     Records : $CNAME"
    echo "Total     Records : $(($CNAME + $A))" 
    Last edited by Rahul.Patil; 2nd May 2012 at 03:05 PM.
    Rahul Patil <http://www.linuxian.com>

  6. #6
    Never say die nixcraft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    BIOS
    Posts
    4,498
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 789 Times in 507 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Yes, all sort of stats.
    All [Solved] threads are closed by mods / admin to avoid spam issues. See Howto mark a thread as [Solved]


  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4

    Default

    Hi Vivek,

    Thanks for your kind response.I followed your tutorial bindgraph on centos , i set bindgraph but when i opened cgi file from browser it shows blank , i mean no graph images and as per .cgi file i set rrd file location and images location but images not happening.

    What could be mistake?
    bind version : 9.3

    Regards,
    Rocky J.

  8. #8
    Never say die nixcraft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    BIOS
    Posts
    4,498
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 789 Times in 507 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Check your Apache cgi-bin config and Apache access/error log file.
    All [Solved] threads are closed by mods / admin to avoid spam issues. See Howto mark a thread as [Solved]


  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4

    Default

    Hi Vivek,

    There is no error in apache error log.And access log shows,

    127.0.0.1 - - [08/May/2012:15:50:02 +0530] "GET / HTTP/1.0" 403 3985 "-" "Wget/1.11.4 Red Hat modified"
    10.115.1.90 - - [08/May/2012:15:50:04 +0530] "GET /cgi-bin/bindgraph/bindgraph.cgi HTTP/1.1" 200 913 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:12.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/12.0"
    10.115.1.90 - - [08/May/2012:15:50:04 +0530] "GET /cgi-bin/bindgraph/bindgraph.cgi/bindgraph_1.png HTTP/1.1" 200 301 "http://10.115.1.230/cgi-bin/bindgraph/bindgraph.cgi" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:12.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/12.0"
    10.115.1.90 - - [08/May/2012:15:50:04 +0530] "GET /cgi-bin/bindgraph/bindgraph.cgi/bindgraph_2.png HTTP/1.1" 200 301 "http://10.115.1.230/cgi-bin/bindgraph/bindgraph.cgi" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:12.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/12.0"
    10.115.1.90 - - [08/May/2012:15:50:04 +0530] "GET /cgi-bin/bindgraph/bindgraph.cgi/bindgraph_0.png HTTP/1.1" 200 301 "http://10.115.1.230/cgi-bin/bindgraph/bindgraph.cgi" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:12.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/12.0"
    10.115.1.90 - - [08/May/2012:15:50:04 +0530] "GET /cgi-bin/bindgraph/bindgraph.cgi/bindgraph_3.png HTTP/1.1" 200 301 "http://10.115.1.230/cgi-bin/bindgraph/bindgraph.cgi" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:12.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/12.0"
    10.115.1.90 - - [08/May/2012:15:50:04 +0530] "GET /cgi-bin/bindgraph/bindgraph.cgi/bindgraph_4.png HTTP/1.1" 200 301 "http://10.115.1.230/cgi-bin/bindgraph/bindgraph.cgi" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:12.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/12.0"

    I am using default apache config, there is no change for cgi-bin in apache conf.

    i set below parameter in bindgraph.cgi ,

    # hostname. will be printed in the HTML page
    my $hostname = 'test.example.com';
    # path of the RRD database
    my $rrd = '/var/www/bindgraph/bindgraph.rrd';
    # temporary directory where the images will be saved
    my $tmp_dir = '/var/www/bindgraph';

    it creates directory ( ,cgi-bin,bindgraph,bindgraph.cgi) inside /var/www/bindgraph , but no graph images there.

    Thanks,
    Rocky J

  10. #10
    Never say die nixcraft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    BIOS
    Posts
    4,498
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 789 Times in 507 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    What about error_log file? Are you using kernel security feature such as SELinux? If so SELinux may block access to bind log files.
    All [Solved] threads are closed by mods / admin to avoid spam issues. See Howto mark a thread as [Solved]


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. RHEL / CentOS Linux Mounting Debugfs
    By vzxen in forum CentOS / RHEL / Fedora
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 1st May 2012, 11:52 PM
  2. BIND SOA - Refresh Retry Expire Attributes WORKING --- Query
    By harmandeep in forum Domain Name Server
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 4th October 2011, 01:20 PM
  3. Verify If BIND DNS Server Working Or Not
    By mrx in forum Domain Name Server
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11th May 2010, 10:08 AM
  4. [Solved] Calculate BIND DNS Server Query
    By sem007 in forum Domain Name Server
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th January 2010, 02:06 PM
  5. BIND 9 and Query-Source
    By Ashish Pathak in forum Linux software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th February 2005, 12:42 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •