Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Slackware boots from LVM - how?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Slackware boots from LVM - how?

    Dear all,

    I found, in Slackware, without using physical/raw partition Linux can be booted & OS will be in LVM but in general people use /boot from physical/raw partition to boot the RedHat linux System & root and other file systems would be in LVM. My doubt is how a system will be booted without using any physical partition hope this is done as lilo does not read file system & kernel can be in LVM.

    Please any one of you explain how it is working in lilo and is it possible through grub?


    To install and boot Slackware from LVM using lilo is explained here: slackware.osuosl.org/slackware/README_LVM.TXT

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I just suggest you that You have to reinstall it in order to get all feasible configurations back.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Dear all,

    Hope I have confused. There is no issue in my machine & installation.
    Below is better explanation:

    In Slackware machine, you are seeing that you have only one file system and it is under LVM. Booted through lilo

    You have one HDD and only one partition and type is LVM. Bootloader is written in MBR.

    /dev/rootvg/rootlv /

    Please let me know how it is working.

    Thanks
    Last edited by tlogine; 11th June 2012 at 01:14 PM. Reason: For more clarity

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Default I just suggest you that You have to reinstall it in order to get all feasible configurations back.

    I just suggest you that You have to reinstall it in order to get all feasible configurations back.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Slackware package manager
    By raj in forum Slackware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th October 2013, 05:15 PM
  2. trouble to install slackware on USB stick
    By alka in forum Slackware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th October 2011, 07:55 PM
  3. vmware-config-tools.pl in slackware 13.37
    By am_al_59 in forum Slackware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd September 2011, 04:19 AM
  4. Execute a command when Ubuntu Linux boots Up
    By eawedat in forum Ubuntu / Debian
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31st August 2011, 04:30 AM
  5. [Solved] Slackware TCP/IP Network Configuration
    By raj in forum Slackware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th August 2009, 11:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •