nixCraft Linux Forum

nixCraft

Linux Tech Support Forum

required linux email help

This is a discussion on required linux email help within the Linux software forums, part of the Linux Getting Started category; Please find below a header of mail which I have received from a fake user. The Email id used is ...


Go Back   nixCraft Linux Forum > Linux Getting Started > Linux software

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-19-2006, 09:44 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Rep Power: 0
vaishalichitale
Default required linux email help

Please find below a header of mail which I have received from a fake user. The Email id used is Hoy@ Kbl.co.in.

How anybody can use our domain to create an Email ID without our notice ? As this mail comes from a trusted source ie KBL.co.in. it dose not get restricted by any spam rule.

I am using linux email ie sendmail, washigton imap/pop3 and \
mailscanner software for spam control.

Can anybody suggest solution for this problm.

Headers:

Received: from dawid-ooj33vq5w (X34216X26.jaskom.pl [195.34.216.26])

by lux.kbl.co.in (8.12.9/8.12.9) with SMTP id k53EkI5O017209

for <avinashpurandare@kbl.co.in>; Sat, 3 Jun 2006 20:16:27 +0530

Received: from [148.113.39.167] (port=4666 helo=[148.113.39.167])

by kbl.co.in with esmtp

id Zvfya8-A9U118-15

for avinashpurandare@kbl.co.in; Sat, 03 Jun 2006 09:57:00 +1100

Reply-To: Patti <HOy@kbl.co.in>

Message-ID: <32265457.20060603095700@kbl.co.in>

From: Patti <HOy@kbl.co.in>

To: <avinashpurandare@kbl.co.in>

Subject: L00king health?

Date: Sat, 03 Jun 2006 09:57:00 +1100

MIME-Version: 1.0

Content-Type: text/html

X-Priority: 1

X-Mailer: The Bat! (v3.71.03) Professional

X-Spam: Not detected

X-KBL-MailScanner-Information: Please contact the ISP for more information

X-KBL-MailScanner: Found to be clean

X-KBL-MailScanner-From: hoy@kbl.co.in

X-Spam-Status: No

Status:
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-19-2006, 05:20 PM
monk's Avatar
Senior Member
User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tibet
My distro: Debian GNU/Linux
Posts: 482
Rep Power: 5
monk will become famous soon enough monk will become famous soon enough
Default

This is called Phishing attack aka email spoofing. Basically attacker forging id of your company's email address to get users to trust and open a message.

Personally, we use domainkeys for our email servers. Other major service providers such as Gmail, Yahoo and others use same technique.

To stop this fraud/phishing attacks, I recommend configuring domainkeys. See more information @ Yahoo domainkeys page: http://antispam.yahoo.com/domainkeys

Domainkeys is an excellent solution but it requires some expertise to configure it properly.

It seems that you don’t have proper mail relay control configured. Only computers/hosts in /etc/mail/access should allowed to send an email via your server. Open this file and add IP address or subnet of your companies computes.

Next configure spam black list

Open /etc/sendmail.mc and add following lines:

Code:
FEATURE(`dnsbl', `ipwhois.rfc-ignorant.org',`"550 Mail from " $&{client_addr} " refused. Rejected for bad WHOIS info on IP of your SMTP server - see http://www.rfc-ignorant.org/"')

FEATURE(`dnsbl', `proxies.blackholes.easynet.nl', `"550 5.7.1 ACCESS DENIED to OPEN PROXY SERVER "$&{client_name}" by easynet.nl DNSBL  (http://proxies.blackholes.easynet.nl/errors.html)"', `')dnl

FEATURE(`dnsbl', `relays.ordb.org', `"550 Email rejected due to sending server misconfiguration - see http://www.ordb.org/faq/\#why_rejected"')dnl

FEATURE(`dnsbl', `bl.spamcop.net', `"450 Mail from " $`'&{client_addr} " refused - see http://spamcop.net/bl.shtml"')

FEATURE(`dnsbl',`sbl.spamhaus.org',`Rejected - see http://spamhaus.org/')dnl
Save the file and restart sendmail. Also use spamassassin http://spamassassin.apache.org/

Hope this helps
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-19-2006, 05:50 PM
tom tom is offline
Contributors
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 213
Rep Power: 0
tom is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

@Monk as usual you got nice info.

Also consider check_rcpt option: http://www.sendmail.org/~ca/email/check.html#check_rcpt
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-20-2006, 10:04 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Rep Power: 0
vaishalichitale
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by monk
This is called Phishing attack aka email spoofing. Basically attacker forging id of your company's email address to get users to trust and open a message.

Personally, we use domainkeys for our email servers. Other major service providers such as Gmail, Yahoo and others use same technique.

To stop this fraud/phishing attacks, I recommend configuring domainkeys. See more information @ Yahoo domainkeys page: http://antispam.yahoo.com/domainkeys

Domainkeys is an excellent solution but it requires some expertise to configure it properly.

It seems that you don’t have proper mail relay control configured. Only computers/hosts in /etc/mail/access should allowed to send an email via your server. Open this file and add IP address or subnet of your companies computes.

Next configure spam black list

Open /etc/sendmail.mc and add following lines:

Code:
FEATURE(`dnsbl', `ipwhois.rfc-ignorant.org',`"550 Mail from " $&{client_addr} " refused. Rejected for bad WHOIS info on IP of your SMTP server - see http://www.rfc-ignorant.org/"')

FEATURE(`dnsbl', `proxies.blackholes.easynet.nl', `"550 5.7.1 ACCESS DENIED to OPEN PROXY SERVER "$&{client_name}" by easynet.nl DNSBL  (http://proxies.blackholes.easynet.nl/errors.html)"', `')dnl

FEATURE(`dnsbl', `relays.ordb.org', `"550 Email rejected due to sending server misconfiguration - see http://www.ordb.org/faq/\#why_rejected"')dnl

FEATURE(`dnsbl', `bl.spamcop.net', `"450 Mail from " $`'&{client_addr} " refused - see http://spamcop.net/bl.shtml"')

FEATURE(`dnsbl',`sbl.spamhaus.org',`Rejected - see http://spamhaus.org/')dnl
Save the file and restart sendmail. Also use spamassassin http://spamassassin.apache.org/

Hope this helps
how can I check that incomming mail from smtp for our domain kbl.co.in, its from address is not a kbl.co.in domains valid user then this mail should rejected by server. How I can implement this. You have any idea
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-20-2006, 01:20 PM
tom tom is offline
Contributors
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 213
Rep Power: 0
tom is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Open sendmail.cf file and make sure following line exists
Code:
FEATURE(`access_db’)
Then open /etc/mail/access file and add your domain name:
Code:
domain.co.in               relay
Save the file and restart sendmail.

To reject email or IP add id/ip and say reject
Code:
111.11.11.22                 REJECT
spammer@abc.com        REJECT
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)

 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads

Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automated email srinivasantarvedi CentOS / RHEL / Fedora 4 04-14-2008 07:26 PM
Email Server, suggestions? s1lent Mail Servers 7 03-09-2008 09:46 AM
squid report required jhn_daz@yahoo.com Networking, Firewalls and Security 1 02-11-2008 04:31 PM
Help in setting up an email server and net gateway ricc Mail Servers 2 01-04-2007 09:33 AM
How to forward an email to other account tom Getting started tutorials 2 09-25-2005 08:58 PM


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3 - Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36